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_____________________________________________ 
This quarterly e-Newsletter provides programmatic and technical support for the 
California CPS community of local health departments, instructors, technicians, and 
advocates. 
 
In this issue: 

I.  CPS/OP Conviction data 
II. Behavior Skills Training (BST) Study for CPS 
III. Upcoming Conferences  
IV. Who to Contact for CPS Support? 

 
I. CPS/OP Conviction Data 
Attached is the annual Excel spreadsheet with all the county (and California) CPS, OP and 
Kaitlyn’s law convictions. Overall, we have seen a decrease in Kaitlyn’s Law convictions (30), 
but an increase in CPS related convictions (2,591). If all convictions yielded the optimal 
$100/conviction that’s $262,100 worth of fine monies coming into CPS prevention at the local 
level. Spread out all over the state and by county it’s not much and many counties tend to 
use it to purchase car seats when they have no other way to obtain them for their local 
activities.  
 
What’s interesting is that some counties saw an increase in CPS related convictions, 
including: Fresno, Imperial, Kern, Kings, LA, Madera, Marin, Sacramento, Santa Barbara, 
Santa Clara. This is good news for everyone because it means it’s possible to increase the 
number of convictions with the strengthening of your program efforts to train and encourage 
law enforcement (and outreach to the courts to convict) on knowing how to cite for CPS 
violations. This video is available on YouTube for those of you who want to offer a training 
tool to law enforcement.  
 

A. Background  
CDPH/VOSP receives conviction data from CA Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for 
convictions to Vehicle Codes (VC) 27360 (ages 0-8 in the rear seat), 27360.5 (ages 8-16), 
15620 if children are left unattended in vehicles, as well as the adult seat belt code 27315. As 
you can see in the California table there has been a drop in convictions across all vehicle 
codes over the years (tables includes 2012-2023, except 2016 and 2017), as our adult seat 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8zNrbuaXbU
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=27360&lawCode=VEH
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=27360&lawCode=VEH
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=27360.5.&lawCode=VEH
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=27360.5.&lawCode=VEH
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=15620.&lawCode=VEH
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=15620.&lawCode=VEH
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=27315.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=27315.


belt use goes up, and we hope that CPS use is also increasing, but more likely there is less 
funding and ability/commitment to citing for CPS violations.   
 
As you know, parents (or the driver in the absence of a parent in the vehicle) are cited for 
CPS violations by California Highway Patrol (CHP) or local law enforcement (police or sheriff) 
ticket. A conviction yields a $500 ticket; the violator may choose to pay the fine, attend 
traffic school (to eliminate the point), and may take a CPS violator education class (to waive 
or reduce the fine) if a class is offered within 50 miles of their residence (and if a class is not 
offered than this component is waived). CPS Violator Education programs exists in several 
California counties; please check the Who’s Got Car Seats? resource for a program in your 
county. After a conviction, the courts will send this information to the DMV, and the local 
public health program receives the $100 base fine (or portion of it) for its CPS program. These 
fines do help keep CPS prevention activities going in our local counties.  
 

B. How do I use the Data?  
DMV conviction data can help with identifying trends in CPS activity in your county. Review 
the data for total numbers of convictions (in each of the vehicle codes) to see if they have 
gone up or down or remained constant. Compare across several years and think about 
factors to attribute to any variations in convictions. Changes in the law often engages law 
enforcement who will then cite more rigorously during the first year to raise awareness and 
gain public compliance.   
 
Use the information in all the vehicle codes provided to compare between years and across 
counties. Review counties with similar population size or neighboring counties for 
comparisons. In addition, you can review your fine monies, secured through the courts to 
your local public health jurisdiction, and evaluate if the fine monies trend corresponds to the 
number of convictions. (Although this is not an exact correlation because fines may be 
reduced or waived). You can use all this information to direct your program efforts by better 
informing your anticipated fine money coming in, taking action to support local law 
enforcement to cite CPS violators, or deciding if you want to offer a violator education 
program in your county. Contact VOSP if you have any questions.  
 
II. Behavior Skills Training (BST) Study for CPS  
Ever wonder how we can make a lasting impact with our educational outreach when we 
install car seats and provide information to families? Jim DeCarli has conducted primary 
research using a behavior skills training model and applied it to the CPS car seat 
inspections. Please join us to learn about Jim’s newly published work on a webinar on 
March 19, 2024, 10:00-11:00am. This webinar will discuss a brief scope and outcomes of a 
recently published longitudinal study of 2,448 expectant women and their partners that 
assessed the efficacy of the use of behavioral skills training to reduce car seat misuse. The 
discussion will describe the background on what led up to this study as part of the 
California Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP), why the use of behavioral skills training is 
beneficial, and how it can be an additional method to help improve the objectives of 
CPSTs.   
 

https://cdph-ca-gov.zoom.us/j/88110186234?pwd=eVVpeUwyUmM1RDRBT1hRd2xIRVVZUT09
https://www.ots.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/67/2019/06/2019_Whos_Got_Car_Seats.pdf


III. Upcoming Conferences 
Lifesavers – National conference for transportation safety professionals. April 7-9, 2024, 
Denver, CO. Next year it’s in Long Beach, CA, so plan on attending! Registration is $600-
700.  
Kidz In Motion (KIM) – International Child Passenger Safety conference, August 22-23, 
2024, Florida.  
 
IV. We are here to support you! 
Please contact VOSP staff if you have any CPS programmatic, Technician Training 
requests or questions, need CPS educational materials, or want to be on the list to receive 
future VOSP e-Newsletters. Please reach out to our team with any questions you may 
have. 
 

 Kate Bernacki, M.P.H., Coordinator 
Kate.Bernacki@cdph.ca.gov  
 

 Claudia Angel, Fiscal/Administration 
Claudia.Angel@cdph.ca.gov 

If you have any questions regarding CPS grant opportunities, please contact Nancy Wolf, 
the Office of Traffic Safety CPS State Coordinator, at Nancy.Wolf@ots.ca.gov. 

***Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.*** 
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