Welcome to the State of California 

Measles

Measles is a highly contagious viral disease. It is widespread in many parts of the world, including Europe, Africa, and Asia. Measles begins with a fever that lasts for a couple of days, followed by a cough, runny nose, conjunctivitis (pink eye), and a rash. The rash typically appears first on the face, along the hairline, and behind the ears and then affects the rest of the body. Infected people are usually contagious from about 4 days before their rash starts to 4 days afterwards. Children routinely get their first dose of the MMR (measles, mumps, rubella) vaccine at 12 months old or later. The second dose of MMR is usually administered before the child begins kindergarten but may be given one month or more after the first dose.

Students (including college students), health care workers, and unvaccinated Californians who are traveling outside of North or South America should receive MMR vaccine before they go. Infants who are traveling can be vaccinated as young as six months of age (though they should also have the two standard doses of MMR vaccine after their first birthday).

Individuals getting ready to travel abroad can find helpful information about travel vaccines in the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website 

The measles outbreak appears to be over, and this is the last report that will be posted.  For routine measles surveillance data, please see the Vaccine Preventable Disease Annual Report.

 

Measles Case Distribution by Local Health Jurisdiction, n=61

Local Health Jurisdiction

Cases with onset in 2014

Alameda

4

Berkeley

1

Contra Costa

4

Humboldt

1

Los Angeles

10

Monterey

2

Orange

22

Riverside

5

San Diego

4

San Joaquin

1

San Mateo

4

Santa Clara

2

Shasta

1

 

How Well-Vaccinated Is Your Child's Child Care Facility/School?

Child care facilities with low vaccination rates are at increased risk for outbreaks of vaccine-preventable diseases. Some children are allowed by California law to skip immunizations if a parent submits a personal beliefs exemption (PBE) or medical exemption (PME) at enrollment. Other children, may be admitted to child care on the 'condition' they complete remaining vaccinations when due. Often there is no follow-up and these children remain under-vaccinated. To lookup vaccination rates at your child care/ school, click below:

Child Care/Preschool | Kindergarten | 7th Grade

Facts
Information for Health Professionals
Data and Surveillance
Resources
 
 
Last modified on: 9/23/2014 9:19 AM