Welcome to the State of California 

County Obesity Plans

In 2010, the California Obesity Prevention Program conducted inerviews with California counties to determine whether each county had an obesity plan and who their contact was for obesity prevention.  The table the follows includes the results from these interviews. Obesity plans that were shared are linked below.

 

County Contact Name Telephone Email Address Plan
Alameda Diane Woloshin 510-595-6458 diane.woloshin@acgov.org  
Alpine Richard Harvey 530-694-2146 rharvey@alpinecountyca.gov  
Amador Dorothy Smith 209-754-6476 dorsmith@ucdavis.edu  
Butte Cindy Wolff 530-898-5288 cwolff@csuchico.edu  
Contra Costa Andrea M. Menefee 925-313-6217 amenefe@hsd.cccounty.us  
De Norte Melody Cannon 707-464-3191, ext. 304 mcannon@co.del-norte.ca.us  
El Dorado Christy White 530-621-6142 christy.white@edcgov.us  
Fresno Kathleen Grassi 559-445-3200 kgrassi@co.fresno.ca.us  
Glenn Leslie McDonnell 530-865-8791 lmcdonnell@glenncountyhealth.net  
Humboldt Lara Weiss 707-441-5084 lweiss@co.humboldt.ca.us  COPP-HumboldtCountyObesityPlan-2009.pdf
Imperial Amy Binggeli 760-482-4716 amybinggeli@co.imperial.ca.us  
Inyo Tamara Cohn 760-873-7868 tcohn@inyocounty.us  
Kern Avtar Nijjer-Sidhu 661-862-8782 avtarn@co.kern.ca.us  
Kings Keith Winkler 559-584-1401, ext. 2625 keith.winkler@co.kings.ca.us  
Lake Susan Jen 707-274-2459 HLNAssistant@sbcglobal.net  
Lassen Cheryl Damm 530-251-8183 CDamm@co.lassen.ca.us  
Long Beach Lara Turnbull 562-570-4294 Lara.Turnbull@LongBeach.gov  
Madera Natalie Stein 559-675-7893, ext. 275 natalie.stein@madera-county.com  
Marin Linda Armstrong 415-473-7059 LArmstrong@co.marin.ca.us  
Mariposa Darcy Matlock 209-966-3689 tobacco@mariposacounty.org  
Mendocino Linda Helland 707-472-2727 hellandl@co.mendocino.ca.us COPP-MendocinoCountyObesityPlan-2007.pdf
Merced Richard Rios 209-381-1130 rrios@co.merced.ca.us  
Modoc Holly Stains 530-233-6360 hollystains@co.modoc.ca.us  
Mono Sandra Pearce 760-924-1818 spearce@mono.ca.gov  
Monterey Lisa  B. Hernandez 831-755-4585 hernandezlb@co.monterey.ca.us
Napa Karen Smith 707-253-4566 karen.smith@countyofnapa.org  
Nevada Galen Ellis 530-265-1732 Galen.Ellis@co.nevada.ca.us  
Orange Amy Buch 714-834-5728 ABuch@ochca.com  COPP-OrangeCountyObesityPrevPlan-2008.pdf
Pasadena Mary Urtecho-Garcia 626-744-6163 mugarcia@cityofpasadena.net  
Placer Mark Starr 530-889-7287 mstarr@placer.ca.gov  
Plumas Dorette English 530-283-6366 doretteenglish@countyofplumas.com  
Sacramento Yvonne Rodriguez 916-875-6494 RodriguezYV@SacCounty.net  COPP-SacramentoCountyChildhoodObesityPrevPlan.pdf
San Benito Jeanne Melius 831-637-5367 jmelius@sanbenitoco.org  
San Bernardino Evelyn Trevino 909-888-3725 etrevino@dph.sbcounty.gov  
San Diego Naomi Butler 619-692-5693 naomi.butler@sdcounty.ca.gov  COPP-SanDiegoObesityPlan2010.pdf
San Francisco Christina Goette 415-581-2422 Christina.Goette@sfdph.org  COPP-SanFranciscoStrategicPlan-2009-2014.pdf
San Joaquin Shené Bowie 209-468-3649 sbowie@sjcphs.org  
San Luis Obispo Kathleen Karle 805-781-4929 kkarle@co.slo.ca.us  COPP-SanLuisObispoCountyChildhoodObesityPrevPlan-2007.pdf
San Mateo Doris Y. Estremera 650-573-2208 destremera@co.sanmateo.ca.us COPP-SanMateoObesityPlan2010.pdf
Santa Barbara Scott McCann 805-681-5270 scott.mccann@sbcphd.org  
Santa Cruz Dena Loijos 831-454-5018 cloijos@health.co.santa-cruz.ca.us  COPP-SantaCruzCountyChildhoodObesityPrevPlan-2004.pdf
Shasta Terri Fields-Hosler 530-245-6869 tfieldshosler@co.shasta.ca.us  COPP-ShastaCountyObesityPrevPlan.2010.pdf
Sierra Ken Cutler 530-993-6710 kcutler@sierracounty.ws  
Siskiyou Stephen Perlman 530-841-2145 sperlman@co.siskiyou.ca.us  
Solano Denise Kirnig 707-784-8131 ddkirnig@solanocounty.com  
Sonoma Chris Bekins 707-565-6625 cbekins@sonoma-county.org  COPP-SonomaCountyObesityPreventionPlan-2010-2013.pdf
Stanislaus Elaine Emery, RD 209-525-4804 eemery@schsa.org  COPP-StanislausObesityPlan2009.pdf
Sutter Michele Blake 530-822 7215 mblake@co.sutter.ca.us  
Trinity Elise Doppelhauer 530-623-8215 eosvolddoppelhauer@trinitycounty.org  
Tulare Jose Ruiz-Salas 559-624-8004 jrsalas@tularehhsa.org  
Tuolumne Kathy Amos 209-533-7403 kamos@co.tuolumne.ca.us  
Ventura Rigoberto Vargas 805-981-5328 rigoberto.vargas@ventura.org  
Yolo Cheryl Boney 530-666-8694 Cheryl.Boney@yolocounty.org  
Yuba Val Elliott 530-749-6765 velliott@co.yuba.ca.us  
 
 
Last modified on: 4/9/2012 1:52 PM