Welcome to the State of California 

 Preventive Health Care for Adults logo

Mission Statement

The mission of Preventive Health Care for Adults (PHCA) is to enhance and protect the health of Californians 50 years and older.  PHCA goals are to promote healthy lifestyles, increase access to health services, and improve quality of life.

About the Program

PHCA offers individual assessment services are typically provided on a regular schedule in community facilities where older adults normally gather, such as senior centers, community centers, churches, and senior residential complexes. Each client provides a comprehensive health history, reviewed by a nurse, and is given a 1–1½ hour focused physical and nutritional assessment.  Together, the client and nurse develop an individualized health plan that outlines the client’s intent to change identified health risk behaviors and undertake appropriate disease prevention activities. The plan emphasizes healthy eating and physical activity.  Other health promotion recommendations and medical referrals suggested by the PHN are included in the plan and are subsequently tracked by the PHN for client follow-through and outcome.

The program also provides community health promotion and education activities. Community health fairs and work-site wellness programs offer blood pressure, blood sugar, cholesterol, and bone-density screenings.  PHCA also offers chronic disease self-management classes and special clinics, such as hemoglobin screening, skin assessment, and flu/immunization clinics.

State Contact Information

      

Name of Contact

Title

Phone Number

E-mail

Esther Jones

Project Assistant, III

916-552-9952

ejones@cdph.ca.gov

Kathony Jerauld, R.D., MPH

Chief, Center for Gerontology

916-552-9944

kjerauld@cdph.ca.gov

   

Participating Counties Contact Information

   

Name of Contact

Title

Phone Number

E-mail

Humboldt

Maggie Velinova-Hipp, PHN

707-268-2172

Mvelinova-Hippo@co.humboldt.ca.us

 

Roseann Potter, PHN

707-268-2173

rpotter@co.humboldt.ca.us     

Kern

Denise Smith, PHN

661-868-0402

smithe@co.kern.ca.us

Kings

Kathy Mittleider, PHN

559-582-3211

kmitteider@co.kings.ca.us

Madera

Melody Kellar, PHN

559-675-7893

mkellar@madera-county.com

Orange

Judy Ogan, PHN

714-972-3747

jogan@ochca.com

San Bernardino

Judy Cohen, SPHN

919-388-0447

jcohen@dph.abcounty.gov

Shasta

Jerry Thacker

530-225-5468

jthacker@co.shasta.ca.us

Stanislaus

Veronica Pehl

209-558-6800

vphel@schsa.org

Tulare

Diane MacDonald, PHN

559-733-6111 ext 309

dmacdona@tularehhsa.org

Ventura

Susan Loring, PHN

805-578-1102

susan.losring@ventura.org

     

 
 
Last modified on: 7/11/2008 8:56 AM