RHB - X-ray Certification & Permitting FAQs
1. Where can I find my application/examination fees?
Fees are shown on the application forms. For application forms, click here.
2. How long will it take to process my application?
We will mail you our decision on your application within 30 days from receipt of your application. If we CANNOT accept your application, we will tell you what is needed for us to reconsider your application.
3. When can I take the examination?
After we accept your application, you will receive notification by mail which will provide instruction on how to contact the American Registry for Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) to register for the examination. Once you have paid for the examination through ARRT, they will mail you an examination packet which will provide instructions on how to schedule for the exam.
4. How long does it take to get my test results?
Within forty-five (45) days after taking the exam, you will be informed of your exam results by mail. If you have passed and were issued a certificate or permit, your name and certificate/permit information will be listed on our Certificate and Permit Search Tool and you will receive your certificate/permit within 4-6 weeks after the exam.
5. Where can I find study material?
The Syllabus on Radiography Radiation Protection and the Syllabus on Fluoroscopy Radiation Protection are posted on our Forms Page under the Healing Arts Certification Section.
6. Can I reschedule my test?
Yes, by contacting the ARRT. You will have 1 calendar after we accept your application to pass the test.
7. Can I update my name/address online?
You can send us a completed Report of Name or Address Change located on our Forms page. Fax this report to (916) 440-7900 or mail it to us at:
California Department of Public Health
Radiologic Health Branch, MS 7610
Certification Support Unit
P.O. Box 997414
Sacramento, CA 95899-7414
8. How do I get a renewal application for reporting my continuing education credits?
A form for reporting your continuing education credits will be in your renewal billing notice that we will mail to you 90 days before your certificate/permit expires. If you do not receive your renewal notice 45 days before your certificate/permit expires, then send us an email at email@example.com. Please include your mailing address and certificate/permit number.
9. What happens if I do not have my renewal billing notice and it is now past my renewal due date (30 days before expiration)?
Special renewal forms are available from the following links. These special renewal forms can not be accepted more than 30 days before your certificate/permit renewal date. It is very important that you determine the correct fee including any applicable penalty. We cannot refund your payment if it is not correct and your renewal application will be considered incomplete.
CDPH 8232 SRA Special Renewal Application for X-Ray Technician Limited Permit (excluding Bone Densitometry)
CDPH 8232 BD SRA Special Renewal Application for X-Ray Technician Bone Densitometry Limited Permit
CDPH 8200 SRA Special Renewal Application for California Radiologic Technology Certificate
CDPH 8238 SRA Special Renewal Application for California Supervisor and Operator Certificate
CDPH 8435 SRA Special Renewal Application for California Nuclear Medicine Technology Certificate
10. What are the fees to renew my certificate/permit?
Your renewal fee will be listed in the renewal billing notice that we mail out 90 days before your certificates/permits expire.
11. Can I pay my fees online or by phone?
No. We regret that we are not able to process fees online or by phone at this time.
12. Can I still X-ray patients even though my certificate/permit has expired, but I have sent you my renewal with fee payment?
No. It is unlawful for you to use X-rays without a current valid certificate/permit. After sending us your renewal application and fee, you can go to our Name Search Tool and see if your renewal has been processed. If your renewal has been processed, you can then printout your information from the search tool and post it with your expired certificate/permit to resume using X-rays.
click here for Continuing Education Credit Requirements and Renewal Information.
20. How can I reinstate my expired certificate/permit?
Either email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or send us a letter requesting to be reinstated.
21. If I am classified as 'Retired' by the ARRT, do I still need to pay my California certificate/permit renewal fee and earn the required continuing credits?
Yes, if you want to remain eligible to perform X-rays within California. Your California certificate/permit will be revoked if you do not pay your renewal fees within six (6) months. A revoked certificate can then be reinstated within five (5) years after you pay your renewal plus penalty fees and earn your required number of continuing education credits.