California Laws -

More than 1,000 children
are killed in motor vehicle
crashes in the U.S. every year. To
prevent these tragedies, select a car seat
based on your child’s size, then choose
a seat that fits your vehicle, and use it
every time.

California Law
BIRTH TO 16 YEARS

Children under 2 years old must be rear facing in a

car seat unless they weigh 40 pounds or more, or are 40
inches tall or more.

Children under age 8 must be properly buckled into a
car seat or a booster in the back seat.

Children age 8 or older, or who are 4'9” or taller, may
use the vehicle seat belt if it fits properly with the lap
belt low on the hips, touching the upper thighs, and the
shoulder belt crossing the center of the chest. If children
are not tall enough for proper belt fit, they must ride in a
booster or car seat.

Exemptions: A child under age 8 may ride in an
appropriate restraint system in the front seat if:
e Thereis no rear seat.
o The rear seats are side-facing jump seats.
o The rear seats are rear-facing seats.
o The car seat or booster cannot be installed
properly in the rear seat.
o All rear seats are already occupied by children
seven years of age or under.

e Medical reasons require that a child cannot
ride in the rear seat. Proof of the child’s
medical condition may be required.

o However, a child cannot be transported
in a rear-facing car seat in the front seat
that is equipped with an active frontal
passenger airbag.

Protect your child -

It is the Law!
FINES & PENALTIES

In California, for each child under 16 who is not
properly buckled, parents (if in the car) or drivers can
be fined more than $500 and get a point on their
driving records.

Car Seat Questions

To find an inspection station
near you, go to www. nhtsa.
gov/equipment/ car-seats-and-
booster-seats#installation-help-

inspection.

Rear-Facing Car Seats

Children under the age of 2

are required to ride in a REAR-
FACING car seat in the back

seat; as recommended by the
American Academy of Pediatrics.
Car seat manufacturers
recommend that children remain
in a rear-facing

car seat until they reach the top
height or weight limit allowed. Rear-facing is the safest
way to ride. Once your child outgrows the rear-facing car
seat, your child is ready to travel in a forward-facing car
seat with a harness and tether.

Boosters & Beyond

BOOSTER SEATS elevate your

child so that the shoulder strap fits
comfortably across the chest, the

lap belt stays low over the hips, and
the knees bend over the seat edge.
Keep your children in a BOOSTER
SEAT until they are big enough to fit
in a seat belt properly.

California law PROHIBITS smoking and
electronic use of tobacco and marijuana in a
motor vehicle when a minor (17 years old and
under) is present. A violation is punishable by a
fine of up to $100.

Older kids are ready to move out
of their booster seat only when
they pass the 5 STEP TEST.

CAR SEAT INSTALLATION TIPS - Once a child is placed
in the car seat, be sure that the harness straps are
snug and can not be pinched between your thumb
and forefinger, that the chest clip is at armpit level,
and that the car seat is tightly secured and does not
move more than an inch from side to side. For rear-
facing car seats, the harness straps are even with or
below the shoulder and when the car seat is forward
facing, the harness straps are even with or above the

shoulders.
E (¢ Forward-Facing N
Car Seats

/_‘\ Keep your child in a FORWARD-
v 2 FACING car seat with a harness
until your child reaches the top 4.
height or weight limit allowed
by the car seat manufacturer. Forward-facing seats
must be used with a top tether strap.

A car seat converts from a 5-point harness into a booster
seat when your child is ready. Once your child outgrows
the forward-facing car seat with a harness, it is time to
travel in a BOOSTER SEAT, and still in the back seat.

Dangers In & Around
Cars & Kaitlyn’s Law

It is against California law to leave a child who is 6
years of age or younger alone in the car without the
supervision of a person at least 12 years old if:

Test

If you answer “no” to
any of these questions,
then the child needs to , :
continue to ride in a 1.
booster seat. '

The keys are in the ignition or the car is running, or

2. There s a significant risk to the child.

Is the child sitting tall so his/her whole back is
touching the seatback?

Children are most at risk of being injured when vehi-
cles are moving forward or backing out of a driveway.

Do the child’s knees bend comfortably at the Know the blind zones of your vehicle.

edge of the seat?

Look Before You Lock to be sure you have not left a
child in the back seat. HEATSTROKE as a result of a child
being left in a vehicle is a terrible tragedy.

3. Does the belt cross the shoulder between the
neck and arm?

Is the lap belt touching the tops of the legs?
Can the child sit like this for the whole trip?

Funding for this publication was provided by the California
Department of Public Health (and photo courtesy) and a grant from
the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway

Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
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All children are safest, properly restrained and in
the back seat until age 13.

NEVER place the shoulder belt under the arm or
behind the back.
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