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HOME MEDICAL DEVICE RETAILER LICENSE APPLICATION 
PLEASE COMPLETE THIS FORM FULLY—INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED 

See Page 3 for Instructions 

License Number (if not new): 
NEW APPLICANT OWNERSHIP CHANGE 
RENEWAL APPLICANT RELOCATION—Previous Address: 

1. Name of Firm 6. Mailing Address (if different or P.O. Box number)

2. DBA (Use other sheets as needed) 7. Mailing Address (continued)

3. Facility Address (number, street) 8. City State ZIP Code 

4. Facility Address (continued) 9. Country (if other than United States)

5. City State ZIP Code 10. Website (URL)

11. Type ownership *Please attach evidence of ownership*
Individual/Sole Proprietorship Partnership Corporation Limited Liability Corporation 
Non Profit Other 

12. Owner’s Name/Corporate Name (if applicable) State of Incorporation 

13. Owner’s or Officers’ Names and Titles Owner’s or Officers’ Names and Titles 

14. Type of Application:
 New HMDR (Additional Location) 

 Renewal of Existing HMDR 
New HMDR (Relocation)        
HMDR Warehouse Only (Storage) 

New HMDR (Never Licensed)  
       New HMDR (Ownership Change)

Check if your facility is any of the following: 
 Pharmacy   Physician’s Office   Other Licensed Healthcare Facility (Specify type): 

15. Type of Business to be conducted at this location:
Retail Sales/ 

Distribution 
Warehouse 

Only Business Days and Hours: 

16. The applicant retailer will be selling the following products (check all that apply).

Respiratory Equipment/O2 Supplies1

CPAPS, BiPAPS1

TENS Units2

Infusion Pumps1

Incontinence Supplies 
Custom Wheelchairs 

Power Wheelchairs2

Manual Wheelchairs 

Walkers, Canes, Commodes 
Hospital Beds/Mattresses 

Air Pressure Mattresses2 Other—
describe below or attach list of 

products 
Catheters1 Nutritional Supplements 

PLEASE CONTINUE TO NEXT PAGE 
1 Indicates prescription device. Must have Pharmacist-in-Charge (PIC) or a Licensed Exemptee on premises.
2 Indicates product may be a prescription device.

CPM Machines Diabetic Test Supplies2
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HOME MEDICAL DEVICE RETAILER LICENSE APPLICATION 
Continued 

License Number (if not new): 

17. If the HMDR facility will be selling/renting prescription devices, respiratory equipment, or medical oxygen:

Will there be a pharmacist in charge (PIC) at this location? Yes No If yes, attach copy of PIC card 

Will there be an HMDR exemptee in charge of operations 
at this location? 

Name: 

 
Yes 

Name:  

If yes, attach copy of exemptee 
license certificate 

License Number: 

License  Number: 

18. Do you have a current accreditation certificate?  Yes   No (If yes, attach a copy of certificate or proof) 
Medi-Cal Provider?   Yes   No   Pending   Quality Standards Accrediting Agency: 

MediCare Provider?   Yes   No   Pending   Date of most recent accrediting audit: 

19. Payment Code (Check all that apply)

 A $1,437.00 Base Fee Fee is due at the time application is submitted and is 
NON-REFUNDABLE 

 B $    720.00 Warehouse Fee If applicable. Fee is due at the time application is submitted and is 
NON-REFUNDABLE 

 C $     10.00 Late Fee If over 30 days past license expiration date 

$ Total Amount Due:  Payable to: California Department of Public Health 

Under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, each person whose 
signature appears below, certifies and says: (1) he/she is the applicant, or one of the owners  

or managers of the applicant corporation, named in the foregoing application, duly authorized 
to make this application on its behalf; (2) that he/she has read the foregoing application and 

knows the contents thereof and that each and all statements therein are made true; (3) that no 
person other than the applicant or applicants has any direct or indirect interest in the 

applicant's or applicants' business to be conducted under the license(s) for which this 
application is made; (4) all supplemental statements are true and accurate. 

20.Owner’s Signature Owner’s Printed Name Title 
Owner/ 

Date 

Authorized Representatives and/or Signatories: 

21. Business Operator Name 22. Telephone Number 23. Emergency Number 24. E-Mail Address

25. Correspondent Name 26. Telephone Number 27. Alt Phone Number 28. E-Mail Address

End of Application. Please note: All boxes must be completed. 

License Number Expiration Date Date Received Payment Type Amount 
$ 

No
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Application Instructions 
 

A separate application is required for each place of business. Please complete and/or amend this application 
as is most appropriate to your facility. Include the appropriate fee for each application as indicated in the fee 
schedule and payable to: CA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH. This fee must accompany this 
application. Without the fee the application cannot be processed. Unsigned or incomplete applications cannot 
be processed. The following are further instructions on how to complete this application: Do not leave any 
sections blank. 

 
New Applicant / Renewal Applicant: Place an (X) in the box next to New Applicant if your firm has not 
previously applied for a Home Medical Device Retailer Registration at this location while under the current 
ownership. Place an (X) in the box next to Renewal Applicant if your firm has already obtained a Home 
Medical Device Retailer Registration for this location, and you are renewing that registration. If your firm has 
changed location, ownership, or both, place an (X) in the box adjacent to the appropriate response. Check 
one box only. 
1. Legal Name of Firm: Enter full name of business, corporation, company, or organization applying for 

registration. 
2. DBA: Enter any other name(s) your company is doing business as. 

3. –5.Facility Address: Enter the number, street, city, state, and zip code for this facility location.  

6.–8.Mailing Address: Enter the full mailing address if different from the facility address or enter P.O Box. 
9. Country: Enter full name of country where facility is located, if outside the United States. 

10. Website URL: Enter the website address of your business, if applicable. 
11. Type of Ownership: Place an (X) in the box next to the appropriate legal description of the facility’s 

ownership. (Attach copy) 
12. Owner’s Name of Corporate Name: Enter corporate name if applicable. Enter state of incorporation if 

applicable. 
13. Owners’ or Officers’ Names: List the business owners’ or officers’ names and titles. Attach a list if 

needed. 
14. Type of Application: Place an (X) in the box next to the type of application and facility type you are 

submitting. 
15. Type of Business: Place an (X) in the box adjacent to the type of business being conducted at this 

location and list business days and hours. 
16. Types of Products: Place an (X) in the box adjacent to the type of products your business will be selling. 

Check all that apply. 
17. Selling or Renting Prescription Devices, Medical Oxygen, or Respiratory Equipment: Place an (X) 

in the boxes next to your answer for both questions. If you answered yes to either question, print the 
name of the licensee, print their license number, and attach a copy of their PIC or Exemptee card. 

18. Medi-Cal or MediCare Provider: Place an (X) in the boxes adjacent to your answer to each question 
on accreditation and provider types. Attach proof of accreditation, accrediting agency, and last audit 
date. 

 
 

PLEASE CONTINUE TO NEXT PAGE 
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Application Instructions Continued 
 

19. Payment Code: Your registration fee is based on the type of activity at your facility.  Place an (X) next to 
the correct payment code(s) and add the total. That is the total amount due at the time of submission. 

 
 

Registration Category 
 

Fee 
 

Interval of Renewal and Fees 
 

Payment Code 

 
Base Fee 

 
$1,437 

First license or Relocation, Ownership 
Change, Relocation, Ownership Change, 

or Annual Fee 

 
A 

 
Warehouse 

 
$720 

First license or Relocation, Ownership 
Change, Relocation, Ownership Change, 

or Annual Fee 

 
B 

 
Late Fee – All Categories $10 

Due if over 30 days past license 
registration date C 

 
REGISTRATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND NON-TRANSFERABLE TO OTHER 

LOCATIONS OR ENTITIES 
 

20. Owner’s Signature: Owner of the facility must sign here. Printer name, title, and date signed. 
21-24. Business Operator Information: Print the business operator’s name, telephone number, 24-Hour 

emergency contact phone number, and e-mail address. 
25-28. Correspondent Information: Printer the business correspondent’s name, telephone number, 

alternative phone number, and e-mail address. 
 

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO: CA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
MAIL APPLICATION AND CHECK TO ONE OF THE ADDRESSES BELOW 

 
Regular 
Mail: 

California Department of Public Health 
Food and Drug Branch – Cashier 
MS 7602 
P.O. Box 997435 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7435 

Overnight 
Mail: 

California Department of Public Health 
Food and  Drug Branch – Cashier 
1500 Capitol Ave MS 7602 
Sacramento, CA 95814 

 
If you have any questions about this application, please contact the Home Medical Device Retailer 
desk at (916) 650-6500, (800) 495-3232. 
The Food and Drug Branch must approve this application before an Out-of-State Home Medical 
Device Retailer registration is issued. If changes are made during the application process, you may 
need to submit a new application with appropriate fees. Fees applied to this application are not 
transferable and are not refundable. 
Any material misrepresentation in response to any question is grounds for refusal or subsequent revocation 
of registration, and a violation of the California Penal Code. All items of information in this application are 
mandatory. Failure to provide any of the requested information will result in the application being rejected as 
incomplete. 
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