



Fact Sheet

California Conference of Local Health Officers

Program Mission:

The mission of the California Conference of Local Health Officers (CCLHO) is to prevent disease and improve the health of all California residents. The Conference was established by statute in 1947 to advise the Department of Health Services (now the California Department of Public Health), other departments, boards, commissions, and officials of federal, state and local agencies, the Legislature and other organizations on all matters affecting health.

Program Description:

The membership of CCLHO includes the 61 legally appointed physician health officers in California, one from each of the 58 counties and the three cities of Berkeley, Long Beach, and Pasadena. CCLHO provides a state/local forum for the discussion of significant health issues in order to develop recommendations for appropriate health policy. Its various program committees consider technical and policy issues in communicable disease control and prevention; chronic disease and injury prevention; environmental health; health equity; maternal, child and adolescent health; and health systems integration.

2023/2024 Board of Directors:

		^	
HVΔ	CIITIVA	$C \cap m$	mittee

President: Aimee Sisson, MD, MPH, Yolo County

President-Elect: Phuong Luu, MD, MHS,

FACP, Yuba/Sutter County

Secretary: Maggie Park, MD, San Joaquin

Treasurer: Nicholas Moss, MD, MPH, Alameda

Legislative Coordinator: Christine Wu, MD, MPH, Napa

Regulations Coordinator: Noemi Doohan, MD, PhD, MPH, Lake

Past President: Anissa Davis, MD, MPH, Long Beach

Members at Large

Penny Borenstein, MD, MPH, San Luis

Obispo

Steve Munday, MD, MPH, Imperial

Henning Ansorg, MD, FACP, Santa Barbara

Michael Sequeira, MD, San Bernardino

Geoffrey Leung, MD, Riverside

Kismet Baldwin-Santana, MD, MPH, San

viateo

Candy Stockton, MD, Humboldt

Regina Chinsio-Kwong, DO, Orange

Committee Chairs

Chronic Disease & Injury Prevention: Dave Canton, DO, MPH, Butte

Communicable Disease Control & Prevention: Barbara Cole, RN, MSN, PHN, Riverside & George Han, MD, MPH, San

Francisco

Environmental Health: Steve Munday, MD, MPH, Imperial & Sara Levin, MD, Contra Costa

Health Equity: Muntu Davis, MD, MPH, Los Angeles

Health Systems Integration: Phuong Luu, MD, MHS, FACP, Yuba/Sutter & Geoffrey Leung, MD,

Riverside

Maternal, Child & Adolescent Health: Curtis Chan, MD, MPH, San Mateo & Lisa Hernandez, MD, Santa Cruz

Program Legal Authority:

California Health and Safety Code, sections 100290, 100295, 100925 and 100950.